Grammy winner, Al Petteway, was voted #27 in a list of the top 50 acoustic guitarists of all time by readers of Acoustic Guitar Magazine. His original compositions have been featured on National Geographic Television and Ken Burn’s Mark Twain and National Parks films. He plays solo and with some of the biggest names in the music industry today which have won him international acclaim.

This new recording on the Dream Guitars label features custom made acoustic guitars hand picked for Al Petteway's performances. The CD was recorded with minimal processing and gives the listener a real feel for the sound of these amazing instruments and Al's genius guitar playing.

How to order

Purchase from PayPal:
Order RS411 CD $13.65 (PayPal prices include shipping) Add- Al Petteway- Dream Guitars Vol. 2- to Cart
Listen to all tracks, or buy: Buy from CDbaby
Download from

"An innovative guitarist with a rich dulcet sound that features a fusion of new and old."
~ Boston Globe

Tune List

  1. I Don’t Want to Be Sad No More (2:51) – 1933 Martin 00-40H
  2. Blue Ridge Brambles (2:13) – Henderson D-28 Deluxe
  3. Breakin’ the Blues (3:32) – Greenfield G1
  4. When We Were Young (3:35) – Stotzel Guitars Zoe Small Jumbo
  5. Downhill Ride (2:14) – Blanchard Sugar Pine
  6. Saturday Night Strut (3:39) – Mountain Song Guitars (Ken Jones) Baritone Fan Fret
  7. Breton Dance (2:06) – Veillette Terz
  8. Late At Night (3:59) – Sobell New World
  9. Just One More Time (3:18) – 1928 National Reso-Phonic Style 1 Tri-Cone
  10. One Yellow Rose (2:20) – Petros Yellow Rose FS Cutaway
  11. My Solitude (4:40) – Buscarino Cabaret
  12. Raven’s Flight (3:26) – Tippin Crescendo Al Petteway Signature Series
  13. River (3:31) – Matsuda M1
  14. The Cuckoo / Reuben’s Train (3:33) – Circa 000
  15. Swannanoa (3:23) – McConnell OM
  16. The South Wind (3:23) – Tippin Custom Crescendo Fan Fret

All Songs are original compositions by Al Petteway

The Story:

“Dream Guitars Volume Two: Hand Picked” is the sequel to “Dream Guitars Volume One: The Golden Age of Lutherie” by Al Petteway. The inaugural CD was a compilation of original music recorded by Al on a limited edition of guitars, named the ‘Dream Series’, designed and crafted by eleven of our favorite luthiers solely for Dream Guitars. Great guitars are part of the reason for the second CD, the other major part is Grammy Award winner, Al Petteway. Those of you who are familiar with Dream Guitars (, know Al as the guy who plays everything from sweet acoustic fingerstyle guitar to down home banjo & mandolin to electric lead with attitude. He’s also a wonderful composer who wrote all the ’56 second wonders’ on our site. Those sound clips that everyone wants TAB for.

“Dream Guitars Volume Two: Hand Picked” features additionally amazing original compositions by Al Petteway played on some of the most incredible instruments on the planet. The instruments were ‘Hand Picked’ off the wall at Dream Guitars by shop owner Paul Heumiller and Al Petteway. A book of sheet music and tablature is also available making it a wonderful learning tool for Fingerstyle guitar players.

“It’s a joy to be able to play all of the wonderful guitars at Dream Guitars while doing their video demos. This second CD in the series features some of our “hand-picked” favorites, recorded with the same bare bones philosophy as Vol. I, relatively raw and with only a bit of reverb added here and there. All of the tracks were recorded in stereo using high-end microphones and preamps. I’ve come to really like this “naked” way of recording and listening to high-end guitars. It makes it much easier to experience the truly individual voices that these instruments have. I hope you enjoy listening to this CD as much as I enjoyed making it.” – Al Petteway

Dream Guitars Vol. 2